Every driver in California is required by law to carry insurance on each vehicle registered in their name. Because the cost of living in this state is high, California auto San Jose CA insurance prices are also higher than in most other USA states. This is why it is important that every resident ensures they have adequate cover.
California has a set minimum cover for the three main insurance categories. These are: $15,000 liability per person, $30,000 liability per accident, and $5,000 property damage. This is known as a 15-30-5 auto policy. These minimums are not negotiable, irrespective of income status.
Remember, these are the minimum requirements. It would be advisable to consult with an insurance expert and ask if you should have extra cover. Many insurance carriers in California recommend that clients take a 100-300-50 auto policy, as opposed to the minimum 15-30-5 just mentioned. The higher cover could save you a lot of money in the case of a claim.
For extra protection, you can take additional auto insurance cover. These are: Collision, Comprehensive, Personal Injury Protection, and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist. Collision cover will guarantee that the insurer will pay for your car’s repairs should it be damaged in a collision with another car.
Comprehensive cover will ensure that damage to your car is paid for by the insurer, irrespective of what or who caused it. This cover also includes vandalism and acts of God such as earthquakes, hurricanes and tornadoes. It is highly recommended that all motorists include comprehensive cover in their auto policies.
Personal Injury Protection is like health insurance. If you and any of your passengers are injured, your medical expenses will be covered. Anyone who regularly transports people, or who does not ha